Meteorology Awards

Student awards are selected in early Spring semester and are typically recognized at the Department's Annual Spring Banquet.  Most awards are based on academic merit or exceptional service.

Jerome N. Behrmann Scholarship in Meteorology

This award is presented annually to one of the top graduating seniors in the Department of Meteorology, based on scholarship, character, and personality. Special consideration is given to students intending to attend graduate school, preferably at Penn State. Funds for the award were donated in memory of Jerome N. Behrmann by his family. He was a Penn State meteorology student, class of 1948, who tragically died shortly after graduation. The recipient must write a brief autobiography, including a statement of his or her future plans, and submit it to the Associate Head of Undergraduate Programs in Meteorology.

John C. Wyngaard Graduate Research Award

This award was established in the name of John C. Wyngaard, Professor Emeritus, in honor of his manifold contributions to the atmospheric sciences and particularly his mentorship of students in atmospheric turbulence and boundary layer meteorology.  John was involved in three national laboratories and served for two decades as a senior member of the faculty in Penn State's Department of Meteorology, where he opened new lines of inquiry, successfully addressed challenging problems in the field, and wisely counseled colleagues and students.

Physical Meteorology Award

This award was established in 2003 to recognize the greatest accomplishment by an undergraduate meteorology student in physical meteorology classes.

John A. Dutton Dynamics Award

This award is presented to recognize the greatest accomplishment by an undergraduate meteorology student in dynamics classes.

Hans Neuberger Award

This award is given to the top Teaching Assistant(s) for excellent teaching of meteorology at the elementary level. The fund was established in 1972 by the Penn State Meteorology faculty in honor of Professor Hans Neuberger, who guided the growth of the department over a period of 33 years from its embryonic beginnings to a position of world eminence. Professor Neuberger established excellence in teaching as a key element of that growth, and demonstrated that skill by his own example.


The Levenia Adom Memorial Graduate Award

This award will be given to provide assistance to a graduate student who has demonstrated excellence and a passion for weather and climate forecasting and communications. The award was established in memory of graduate student, Levenia Adom, who passed away from colon cancer just a few months from finishing her M.S. degree in January 2007. Through the efforts of many in the Department of Meteorology, her degree was awarded posthumously in May 2007, and the award was activated in January 2009 through the philanthropy of Levenia's family, friends, and colleagues.

Special Award for Teaching Support

Graduate students and advanced undergraduates have long played an important role in the education of other students in the Department of Meteorology. Every once in a while, a student, or group of students, provides exceptional service to the department's academic program. The Special Award for Teaching Support was created by the Department to recognize this outstanding teaching support. The award is given infrequently, since the service must be truly exceptional.